Books

A lonely woman. A single decision. A second chance at happiness.

Ever wished you could be who you used to be? Meet Netta…

Netta Wilde was all the things Annette Grey isn’t. Netta Wilde was fun and just a little bit rebellious. She had friends who loved her. Friends she would love to the end of time.

Annette Grey is an empty, broken woman who hardly knows her own children. Of course, it’s her own fault. She’s a bad mother. An unnatural mother. At least, that’s what her ex-husband tells her.

The one thing she is good at …
the one thing that stops her from falling …
is her job.

When the unthinkable happens, Annette makes a decision that sets her on a journey of self-discovery and reinvention. Along the way, her life is filled with friends, family, dogs, and jam. Lots of jam.

Suddenly anything seems possible. Even being Netta Wilde again.

But, is she brave enough to take that final step when the secrets she keeps locked inside are never too far away?

If you like uplifting page-turners, you’ll love Being Netta Wilde. Perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse, Mike Gayle and Nick Alexander

★★★★★ ‘A beautiful story about personal growth, love, loss, and friendships.’

★★★★★ ‘An absolute blast of a read! A real feel good pick me up that kept me smiling until the end.’

★★★★★ ‘Loved this book and gobbled it up!’

Two women. Two Timelines. One heart-wrenching story.

Step Forward Edith Pinsent…

Netta Wilde’s house is heaving with the late Edith Pinsent’s memories, and now that her life is finally on the up, Netta decides it’s time to deal with them. Before she knows it, she’s on a journey of discovery that begins with a wide-eyed young WAAF in wartime Britain and ends with an eccentric old spinster, alone with her memories.

But the path to the truth is not easy.

There are missing diaries to contend with, hidden clues to uncover and revelations that turn everything on its head. Revelations that make Netta question if her own life really is sorted.

Delving deeper into Edie’s story, Netta is overtaken by a need to revisit her own past and put things right. Now she has two challenges on her hands. One to face the two people who once meant more than anything else in the world to her; the other to find the real reason behind Edie’s plan. Neither seem to be going the way she’d expected.

As the two challenges intertwine, Netta realises that Edith had a purpose for her. One that she must fulfil

Bit by bit, the house yields a lifetime of secrets and the real Edith Pinsent begins to emerge.But will it be the Edith everyone thought they knew?

If you like uplifting page-turners, you’ll love Finding Edith Pinsent. Perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse, Mike Gayle and Nick Alexander

★★★★★Wow. Just wow. Even better than the first book. This series would make an amazing drama tv series or film. I love all the characters and storylines. Couldn’t put this book down. Hooked from start to finish’

★★★★★ ‘A rollercoaster ride and feelgood heart-warming experience’

★★★★★ ‘Edie is so realistic, you will fall in love with her’

Not all guardian angels have wings and halos. Sometimes they come in the most unlikely packages.

Geraldine Wilde has been afraid for as long as she can remember.

Mostly, it’s the little things that frighten her. Little things like putting flowers on her mum’s grave. But Geraldine gets by. She has a secret system to calm her nerves and keep everything hidden so that no one suspects she’s not normal.

But when her daughter, Netta, stumbles upon a hidden letter, a terrible secret returns to haunt her. She’s tormented by the memory of Geraldine Corcoran, the tragic girl who was once saved by the remarkable Ada Wilde and her son, Arthur.

Suddenly, the system is unravelling. Geraldine’s fear is spiralling out of control and, this time, there’s no one left to rescue her. Ada is dead, and her beloved Arthur is an old man who tiptoes around her as if he’s treading on eggshells. Netta can’t help her and, to make matters worse, that mouthy Kelly Payne insists on befriending her.

Geraldine is sinking and she can’t find a way back up to the surface.

Is there anyone out there who can save her now?

If you like Harold Fry, Eleanor Oliphant or Veronica McCreedy, you’ll love Geraldine Corcoran. Perfect for fans of moving and uplifting page-turners.

★★★★★ ‘Beautifully written about topics that must resonate with many… Helped me find my own way back’

★★★★★ ‘It was such a powerful read that totally consumed me. I did not so much read the book – I ‘lived’ it.’

★★★★★ ‘I devoured this in two sittings and spent the whole time I wasn’t reading it, thinking about the characters and the unfolding story.

A sometimes funny, sometimes moving tale of identity and human relationships. Part coming of age, part modern day love story.

Doogie Chambers is in love with Netta Wilde

No one knows him …

no one gets him …

like she does.

He thinks she’s Debbie Harry crossed with Siouxsie Sioux. She thinks he’s Heathcliff.

If it was just the two of them, everything would be fine. The trouble is, being with her unlocks the stuff he usually tries not to think about. Stuff like his need to belong. Stuff that makes him do stupid things that can only end badly.

When the inevitable happens, Doogie assumes he’ll never see her again. Then, sixteen years later, she’s back in Manchester. Still Netta, but different. Married with kids and a whole heap of emotional baggage.

If he had any sense, he’d stay well away. But when it comes to Netta Wilde, common sense doesn’t apply.  

A companion novella. Exclusively free to members of Hazel’s Readers’ Club.

Kelly Payne has a new story to tell.

Keep an eye on her Amazon page for more details

Out no later than 1st July 2023